Faculty Member


Manas Maity


Area of Specialisation
Particle Physics

Date of Birth 20th April, 1966.
Date of Joining 01.01.2009
Contact Address

Department of Physics, Institute of Science, Visva-Bharati, Santiniketan 731235, India

Phone, fax, mobile, email

Phone (Office) +91 3463 261016+91 3463 261016
Fax (Office) +91 3463  262728
Mobile: +91 9434307023+91 9434307023
Email: manas.maity@visva-bharati.ac.in, manas.maity@cern.ch


M.Sc.  in Physics, Jadavpur University, India
Ph.D. in Physics (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai), University of Mumbai


Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai - February 1998 – April, 2002
Visva-Bharati – November 2002, till date

Research Areas

Particle Physics – colliding beam experiments, phenomenology, Standard Model, Supersymmetry, Monte Carlo Simulation

Awards & Fellowships

Jagadish Bose National Science Talent Search – Book Award

Research Fellowship – Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (1991 - 1997)

Research Associate – Boston University (2000 - 2002)

Associate – Regional Centre for Accelerated-based Particle Physics, HRI, India (2008-2011)

Visiting Professor – Saha Institute of Fundamental Research, Kolkata (August, 2013 – July, 2014)

Ph.D. Students

Currently working – 2

Research Projects


  1. Standard Model and Beyond: Physics with the CMS Detector at LHC, Department of Science & Technology, Government of India, 2005 – 2009
  2. Physics Beyond the Standard Model in Collider Experiments, Department of Science & Technology, Government of India, 2004 – 2009
  1. Study of New Particles with the CMS at the Large Hadron Collider and Heavy Ion Physics with the LHC at CERN – CMS Experiment,Department of Science & Technology, Government of India, 2009 – 2014
  2. India LHC Grid Collaboration – Enhancement of Regional Worldwide Computing Grid, Department of Science & Technology, Government of India, 2010 – 2013
Research Publications


  • Measurement of Rb and BR(b->lnX) at LEP Using Double-Tag Methods, L3 Collaboration, European Physics Journal C 13 (2000) 47
  • The search for charged Higgs in top decays at CMS,  S. Banerjee and M. Maity, J. Phys. G: Nucl. Part. Phys. 28 (2002) 2443–2452
  • Looking for the top squark at the Fermilab Tevatron with four jets, Siba Prasad Das, Amitava Datta, Manas Maity, Physics Letters B 596 (2004) 293–300
  • The muon system of the Run II D0 detector, Manas Maity, et. al., Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A 552 (2005) 372–398
  • Looking for the top squark at the Fermilab Tevatron with four jets, Debajyoti Choudhury, Madhumita Datta, and Manas Maity, Physical Review  D 73, 055013 (2006)
  • CMS Physics Technical Design Report, Volume II: Physics Performance, CMS Collaboration, Journal of Physics G 34 (2007) 995–1579
  • Focus point SUSY at the LHC revisited, S.P. Das, A. Datta, M. Guchait, M. Maity, S. Mukherjee, European Physical Journal C 54, 645–653 (2008)
  • Interplay between the charged Higgs and squark-gluino events at the LHC, Nabanita Bhattacharyya, Amitava Datta, Monoranjan Guchait, Manas Maity, Sujoy Poddar, Physical Review D 82, 035022 (2010)
  • Probing the light Higgs pole resonance annihilation of dark matter in the light of XENON100 and CDMS-II observations, Utpal Chattopadhyay, Debottam Das, Dilip Kumar Ghosh, Manas Maity, Physical Review D 82, 075013 (2010)
  • R-parity violating supersymmetric explanation for the CDF Wjj excess, Dilip Kumar Ghosh, Manas Maity, Sourov Roy, Physical Review D 84, 035022 (2011)
  • Search for the lightest scalar top quark in R-parity violating decays at the LHC, Debajyoti Choudhury, Madhumita Datta, Manas Maity, JHEP10(2011)004
  • Observation of a new boson at a mass of 125 GeV with the CMS experiment at the LHC, CMS Collaboration, Physics Letters B 716 (2012) 30–61
  • Study of the Mass and Spin-Parity of the Higgs Boson Candidate via Its Decays to Z Boson Pairs, CMS Collaboration, Physical Review Letters 110, 081803 (2013)More than 200 other publications as member of L3, D0 and CMS collaborations.
Research Collaborators
Members of the CMS Collaboration
Prof. Amitava Datta (formerly of IISER, Kolkata)
Prof.  Debajyoti Choudhury (University of Delhi)
Prof. Monoranjan Guchait (TIFR, Mumbai)
Prof. Utpal Chattopadhyay, Prof. Sourov Roy, Prof. Dilip Kumar Ghosh (IACS, Kolkata)